Malcolm C. Clark Award

 Malcolm C. Clark Award

Each year, the South Carolina Historical Society presents the Malcolm C. Clark Award to the author of the best article published in the South Carolina Historical Magazine, the Historical Society’s venerable peer-reviewed journal. The winner is determined by the Magazine’s Editorial Board.

The award is named in honor of Malcolm C. Clark, emeritus professor of history at the College of Charleston. Clark was a member of the Editorial Board of the Magazine for thirty years. He was elected to the board, known at the time as the Publications Committee, in 1968 and served as chair from 1976 to 1998. Clark also was president of the South Carolina Historical Society from 1982 to 1985.

Previous Winners:

2013 (Volume 114)
“Godin & Co.: Charleston Merchants and the Indian Trade, 1674–1715,” by Denise I. Bossy

2012 (Volume 113)
“Hastening the Demise of Federalism in the Low Country: South Carolina’s Congressional Gerrymander of 1802,” by Thomas Rogers Hunter

2011 (Volume 112)
“Of Time and the City:Charleston in 1860,” by Barbara L. Bellows

2010 (Volume 111)
“‘We Are Verily Guilty concerning Our Brother': The Abolitionist Transformation of Planter William Henry Brisbane,” by J. Brent Morris

2009 (Volume 110)
“‘That Will Make Carolina Powerful and Flourishing': Scots and Huguenots in Carolina in the 1680s,” by Kurt Gingrich

2008 (Volume 109)
“Compacts and Compromises: Thomas S. Twiss and West Point Influence in the Antebellum South Carolina College,” by Colin Bennett

2007 (Volume 108)
“American Indian Survival in South Carolina,” by Theda Perdue

2006 (Volume 107)
“‘The Problem of South Carolina’ Reconsidered: A Review Essay,” by James Haw

2005 (Volume 106)
“Global Perspectives on the Early Economic History of South Carolina,” by Peter A. Coclanis

2004 (Volume 105)
“Of Facts and Fables: New Light on the Denmark Vesey Affair,” by Robert L. Paquette and Douglas R. Egerton

2003 (Volume 104)
“The Literary and Philosophical Society of South Carolina: A Forum for Intellectual Progress in Antebellum Charleston,” by Lester D. Stephens

2002 (Volume 103)
“Toward Humanitarian Ends? Protestants and Slave Reform in South Carolina, 1830-1865,” by Kimberly R. Kellison

2001 (Volume 102)
“Bishop John England and the Possibilities of Catholic Republicanism,” by Daniel F. Kearns

1999 (Volume 100)
“‘Why They Did Not Preach up This Thing': Denmark Vesey and Revolutionary Theology,” by Douglas R. Egerton

For more information on the Malcolm C. Clark Award, contact Matthew Lockhart, editor of the South Carolina Historical Magazine and chair of the award committee.